

CONNOR DE PHILLIPPI QUICKEST OVERALL IN DAY 1 OF STAR MAZDA TESTING AT BARBER MOTORSPORTS PARK – PETRI SUVANTO QUICKEST ROOKIE IN FIELD OF 21 CARS

March 20, 2012 / Barber Motorsports Park – With the 2012 season-opener at the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg just six days away, the teams and drivers of the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear are engaged in a bit of 'Spring Training' today and tomorrow at Barber Motorsports Park.

And they're keeping the top of the time sheets pretty much 'all in the family.' With three sessions now in the books, Star Mazda veteran Connor De Phillippi, driving this year for Juncos Racing, not only set the quick time of the day on the 20th lap of Session 1 - 1:20.607 (102.721 mph) – but he also broke, by a lot, the Star Mazda track record at Barber -- 1:21.166 (102.013 mph) -- set last year in qualifying for Round 2 of the 2011 season by eventual champion Tristan Vautier. De Phillippi, who finished 2nd in the Star Mazda Championship battle last year, was the 2009 Skip Barber Pro Series champion and moved up to Star Mazda in 2010 with scholarship funding from the Mazda Road to Indy.

The quickest rookie in the pack of 21 cars, not unexpectedly, was 2011 USF2000 National Championship Powered by Mazda winner Petri Suvanto. The Finnish driver is competing in the Star Mazda Championship this year with scholarship funding from the Mazda Road to Indy, and his time of 1:21.294 (101.853 mph), while well shy of De Phillippi's flyer, was the quickest of Session 2 and just 1/10th off the lap record... serving clear notice that he and his #81 Team Pelfrey / Mazda Road to Indy car will be a force to be reckoned with right from the very first green flag.

And at the top of the time sheets in Session 3 was 2011 Star Mazda Rookie of the Year, Sage Karam (also the 2010 USF2000 champion and Mazda Road to Indy scholarship winner) with a 1:21.411 (101.706 mph) in the #Andretti Autosport / Comfort Revolution Mazda, the car he drove to two oval track victories and 5th-place in the championship last year.

Star Mazda on-track action at Barber Motorsports Park continues with three sessions scheduled for tomorrow, after which teams will head immediately for the Grand Prix of St. Petersburg where the first practice session is scheduled for 6:10-6:40 pm Thursday evening.

For more information on the Star Mazda Championship and its drivers, as well as the Mazda Road to Indy, please visit <u>www.starmazda.com</u> and <u>www.mazdausa.com</u>. For information, interviews and photos, contact Star Mazda Communications Director Peter Frey at (818) 398-5733 or <u>StarMazdaPR@aol.com</u>.

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/starmazdaseries

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/starmazdaseries

Live timing: <u>http://livetiming.net/StarMazda/</u>















Session 1

Pos	PIC	No.	Name	Best Tm	Best Speed In	Lap	Diff	Gap
1	1	2	Connor De Philippi	1:20.607	102.721	20		
2	2	88	Sage Karam	1:21.432	101.680	12	0.825	0.825
3	3	22	Martin Scuncio	1:21.557	101.524	22	0.950	0.125
4	4	82	Jack Hawksworth	1:21.807	101.214	13	1.200	0.250
5	5	81	Petri Suvanto	1:22.074	100.885	16	1.467	0.267
6	6	9	Juan Piedrahita	1:22.493	100.372	22	1.886	0.419
7	7	19	Gabriel Chaves	1:22.498	100.366	19	1.891	0.005
8	8	77	Zach Veach	1:22.689	100.134	14	2.082	0.191
9	9	83	Gustavo Menezes	1:22.980	99.783	9	2.373	0.291
10	10	72	Larry Pegram	1:23.700	98.925	19	3.093	0.720
11	11	57	Diego Ferriria	1:24.312	98.207	11	3.705	0.612
12	12	15	Bruno Palli	1:24.463	98.031	18	3.856	0.151
13	13	99	Stefan Rzadzinski	1:25.359	97.002	17	4.752	0.896
14	14	66	Zach Meyer	1:25.700	96.616	5	5.093	0.341
15	15	91	Ashley Freiberg	1:25.748	96.562	15	5.141	0.048
16	16	21	Camilo Schmidt	1:28.330	93.739	15	7.723	2.582
17	17	23	Walt Bowlin	1:31.375	90.616	7	10.768	3.045
18	18	10	Jerimy Daniel		-	0		
19	19	39	Dom Bastien		-	0		
20	20	53	Andre Mendez		-	0		
21	21	65	Corey Lewis		-	0		

Session 2

Pos	PIC	No.	Name	Best Tm	Best Speed In La	р	Diff Gap	
1	1	81	Petri Suvanto	1:21.294	101.853 1	9		
2	2	2	Connor De Philippi	1:21.820	101.198	2	0.526 0.526	5
3	3	83	Gustavo Menezes	1:21.916	101.079 1	8	0.622 0.096	5
4	4	15	Bruno Palli	1:22.618	100.220 1	1	1.324 0.702	2
5	5	22	Martin Scuncio	1:22.727	100.088	2	1.433 0.109)
6	6	82	Jack Hawksworth	1:23.024	99.730	4	1.730 0.297	7
7	7	77	Zach Veach	1:23.192	99.529	2	1.898 0.168	3
8	8	19	Gabby Chaves	1:23.236	99.476	5	1.942 0.044	1
9	9	57	Diego Ferriria	1:23.378	99.307	5	2.084 0.142	2
10	10	9	Juan Piedrahita	1:23.439	99.234	4	2.145 0.061	L
11	11	66	Zach Meyer	1:23.971	98.605 1	6	2.677 0.532	2
12	12	88	Sage Karam	1:24.005	98.566	2	2.711 0.034	1
13	13	72	Larry Pegram	1:24.048	98.515 1	4	2.754 0.043	3
14	14	99	Stefan Rzadzinski	1:24.064	98.496 1	4	2.770 0.016	5
15	15	65	Corey Lewis	1:24.258	98.270 1	2	2.964 0.194	1
16	16	91	Ashley Freiberg	1:24.394	98.111 2	0	3.100 0.136	5
17	17	10	Jerimy Daniel	1:24.575	97.901 1	1	3.281 0.181	L
18	18	23	Walt Bowlin	1:26.571	95.644 1	9	5.277 1.996	5
19	19	38	Dom Bastien	1:31.727	90.268	7	10.433 5.156	5
20	20	53	Andre Mendez	1:37.009	85.353	3	15.715 5.282	2
21	21	21	Camilo Schmidt		-	0		

















Session 3

Pos	PIC	No.	Name	Best Tm	Best Speed	In Lap	Diff	Gap
1	1	88	Sage Karam	1:21.411	101.706	14		
2	2	2	Connor De Philippi	1:21.432	101.680	15	0.021	0.021
3	3	83	Gustavo Menezes	1:21.774	101.255	22	0.363	0.342
4	4	22	Martin Scuncio	1:22.244	100.676	11	0.833	0.470
5	5	77	Zach Veach	1:22.411	100.472	8	1.000	0.167
6	6	19	Gabby Chaves	1:22.469	100.401	20	1.058	0.058
7	7	57	Diego Ferriria	1:22.560	100.291	15	1.149	0.091
8	8	15	Bruno Palli	1:22.571	100.277	15	1.160	0.011
9	9	66	Zach Meyer	1:22.657	100.173	17	1.246	0.086
10	10	81	Petri Suvanto	1:22.704	100.116	12	1.293	0.047
11	11	82	Jack Hawksworth	1:23.136	99.596	5	1.725	0.432
12	12	72	Larry Pegram	1:23.350	99.340	5	1.939	0.214
13	13	65	Corey Lewis	1:23.969	98.608	8	2.558	0.619
14	14	21	Camilo Schmidt	1:25.101	97.296	7	3.690	1.132
15	15	99	Stefan Rzadzinski	1:25.102	97.295	8	3.691	0.001
16	16	10	Jerimy Daniel	1:25.643	96.680	11	4.232	0.541
17	17	91	Ashley Freiberg	1:25.742	96.569	12	4.331	0.099
18	18	23	Walt Bowlin	1:26.643	95.565	20	5.232	0.901
19	19	53	Andre Mendez	1:29.662	92.347	14	8.251	3.019
20	20	9	Juan Piedrahita		-	0		
21	21	38	Dom Bastien		-	0		











